Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Kate Crater, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

August 29, 2024

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 18, 2024, at 9:00 a.m., regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

| <u>Court of Appeals</u> Seat 2 | The Honorable Kristi F. Curtis, Sumter, SC Jason P. Luther, Columbia, SC The Honorable Courtney Pope, Aiken, SC |
|--|--|
| Seat 3 | The Honorable John D. Geathers, Ridgeway, SC |
| Seat 4 | The Honorable Paula H. Thomas, Murrells Inlet, SC |
| <u>Circuit Court</u> 5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | Jess Mangum, Columbia, SC Ashley A. McMahan, Columbia, SC April W. Sampson, Irmo, SC Christopher Dolan Taylor, Columbia, SC Justin T. Williams, Columbia, SC William K. Witherspoon, Columbia, SC |
| 7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | J. Derham Cole Jr., Spartanburg, SC |
| 9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Deadra L. Jefferson, Charleston, SC |
| 9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | Bryan A. Alfaro, Charleston, SC The Honorable Russell D. Hilton, Ridgeville, SC Thomas J. Rode, Charleston, SC Gregory K. Voigt, Charleston, SC |

| | R. Bruce Wallace, Mt. Pleasant, SC |
|---|---|
| 10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Lawton McIntosh, Anderson, SC |
| 11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Michael H. Emmer III, Gilbert, SC The Honorable David Shawn Graham, Lexington, SC The Honorable Kyliene Lee Keesley, West Columbia, SC Derrick E. Mobley, Gilbert, SC Christian Giresi Spradley, Batesburg-Leesville, SC |
| 16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable Jennifer S. Colton, York, SC Melissa A. Inzerillo, Rock Hill, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 7 | Jason C. Alderman, Long Creek, SC The Honorable Joshua C. B. Allen, Anderson, SC De Grant Gibbons, Aiken, SC Riley J. Maxwell, Columbia, SC William Vickery "Vick" Meetze, Marion, SC Jane H. Merrill, Greenwood, SC Bart J. Stegall, Summerville, SC Aaron V. Taylor, Greenwood, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 14 | The Honorable R. Keith Kelly, Spartanburg, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 15 | The Honorable Maite D. Murphy, North Charleston, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 16 | Charles J. McCutchen, Orangeburg, SC |
| <u>Family Court</u> 1 st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Anne Guè Jones, Orangeburg, SC |
| 2 nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | Shannon M. Chandler, Graniteville, SC Amanda Frances Whittle , Aiken, SC |
| 2 nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable Angela W. Abstance, Denmark, SC |
| 3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | William A. W. Buxton, Sumter, SC E. Thompson Kinney, Columbia, SC |
| 3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable Angela R. Taylor, Sumter, SC |
| 3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 | The Honorable Ernest Joseph Jarrett, Kingstree, SC |
| 4 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | C. Heath Ruffner, Cheraw, SC |
| 5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable Michelle M. Hurley, Columbia, SC |

| 5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 | The Honorable M. Scott Rankin, Camden, SC |
|---|--|
| 6 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Coreen B. Khoury, Lancaster, SC |
| 7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Angela J. Moss, Inman, SC |
| 7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable M. Todd Thigpen, Roebuck, SC |
| 8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Bryan C. Able, Laurens, SC Robert W. Cone, Greenwood, SC James Conway "Jim" Todd IV, Laurens, SC |
| 8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 | The Honorable Joseph C. Smithdeal, Greenwood, SC |
| 9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable Alice Anne Richter, Mt. Pleasant, SC |
| 9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4 | The Honorable Blakely Copeland Cahoon, Summerville, SC |
| 10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable David J. Brousseau, Anderson, SC |
| 10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 | The Honorable M. Scott McElhannon, Anderson, SC |
| 11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable Huntley Smith Crouch, Lexington, SC |
| 11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 | The Honorable Robert E. Newton, Lexington, SC |
| 12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Alicia Allsbrook Richardson, Britton's Neck, SC |
| 12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable FitzLee H. McEachin, Florence, SC |
| 13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Rochelle Yarborough Conits, Greenville, SC |
| 13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable W. Marsh Robertson, Greenville, SC |
| 13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6 | Jonathan D. Hammond, Greenville, SC Marcelo Torricos, Simpsonville, SC |
| 14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Gerald C. Smoak Jr., Walterboro, SC |
| 14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 | Addison D. Fender, Beaufort, SC Dustin Lee, Bluffton, SC |

| 15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 | The Honorable Jan B. Bromell Holmes, Georgetown, SC |
|--|---|
| 16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 | The Honorable David G. Guyton, Rock Hill, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 1 | The Honorable Kimaka "Kim" Nichols-Graham, Greenville, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 2 | The Honorable Timothy E. Madden, Greenville, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 3 | The Honorable James G. McGee III, Florence, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 4 | The Honorable Monét Pincus, Columbia, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 5 | The Honorable Randall E. McGee, St. Matthews, SC |
| At-Large, Seat 6 | The Honorable David Earl Phillips, Williamston, SC |
| <u>Administrative Law Court</u> Seat 2 | Kristian Cross, Columbia, SC The Honorable Bryan S. Jeffries, West Columbia, SC Samuel L. Johnson, West Columbia, SC |
| Seat 3 | The Honorable Robert L. Reibold, Columbia, SC |
| Seat 4 | The Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden, Columbia, SC |
| <u>Masters-in-Equity</u> Abbeville County | The Honorable Roy R. Hemphill, Greenwood, SC |
| Aiken County | The Honorable M. Anderson Griffith, Aiken, SC |
| Beaufort County | Sean Michael Bolchoz Sr., Hilton Head Island, SC James J. Wegmann, Beaufort, SC |
| Berkeley County | Paul B. Ferrara III, Hanahan, SCW. T. Geddings Jr., Manning, SCJ. Camden West, Moncks Corner, SC |
| Georgetown County | The Honorable Joe M. Crosby, Pawleys Island, SC |
| Kershaw County | The Honorable William B. Cox Jr., Camden, SC |
| Lee County | James Patterson Saverance Jr., Bishopville, SC |
| Lexington County | The Honorable James Otto Spence, Lexington, SC |

| Richland County | Stephanie N. Lawrence, Columbia, SC Ian D. McVey, Columbia, SC |
|--|---|
| <u>Active/Retired</u> Circuit Court | The Honorable Donald Bruce Hocker, Laurens, SC Steven H. John, Little River, SC |
| Family Court | The Honorable Timothy H. Pogue, Marion, SC |

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, October 28, 2024**. The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath, and failure to appear will result in a dismissal of the related complaint. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, the website is available at:

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.